top of page

When Mexicans meet a Vietnamese...

Perhaps most exciting activity recently for me was when I introduced Vietnamese cuisine ingredients and cooked with my host family as well as local friends. Everyone so far loved the Vietnamese food, especially the Vietnamese spring rolls. In exchange, I have also learned more of Mexican cuisine, and look forward to bring this back to the US. In terms enjoying my time in Mexico, I think the best "strategy" is the genuine interest to share things about my own culture and my enthusiasm to learn about people and culture in México.

Picture of Doña Landy making Vietnamese spring rolls.

She really loved it, and gave me her number so that I can stop by her house and make more Vietnamese food when I am in Mérida. The issue is time, and I hope I can stay longer to take advantage of that. I am mostly making sure I wrap up my project well first.

Me cooking fried rice and totally rocking that hair net :D

In the back is Irene from whom I will learn how to make authentic tortillas one of these days. An owner of a local restaurant, she is hoping to start teaching cooking classes and was interested in learning Vietnamese food for her future students!

Mexican friends learning how to make Vietnamese Spring rolls. I made improvised peanut sauce because we couldn't find any. Considering that people were willing to eat and wanted to try making it themselves, went pretty well!

Pho noodles?

I also make Pho and another friend attempted to make his own version of the soup (above)- which made me very happy knowing my Vietnamese cuisine is spreading across Mexico. Slowly but surely, Mexico, slow but surely...

At the moment, I am excited to be going back to visit my family in Georgia for a little bit over the break. As wonderful as México has been, I really miss those at home. One of the reasons why I kept this blog was so that friends and family can keep up with what I am up to in México. And I am happy to say that I have 10+ subscribers now. Whoo hoo!

Hasta pronto,

Vyoleta


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Vyoleta T.
bottom of page