top of page

Meditation progress

I have been meditating pretty regularly, and also look forward to continuing this. It takes only 21 days to form a habit, and that's what I keep telling myself. I really want to take advantage of my time in San Crisanto where there is terrible internet signal and not much connection to the outside world for me, to hone in on this meditation practice again. I used to be able to do this while in school at Stanford (which could get very stressful) so I know I can achieve this habit again.

Meditating at Stanford. Photo Credit: Maia Mossé, BeAGoodDoctor.org

Ambience matters. I like using a sitting pillow and facing a window looking out to trees(s). I love feeling the sunlight through my eyelids. At least for a beginner, having adequate ambience and as little distraction as possible is good. I also sat for longer these days, using the short guided meditation to come into the zone and staying in the zone past the bell timer. I think having a consistent time is very important. Since living with my host family means eating breakfast with them, it has meant meditating before or after breakfast depending when it’s ready and when I wake up. Therefore, to be more consistent, I need to wake up before everyone else and meditate at 6:45am. Let’s try that in a couple of days. For now, I can hone in on the techniques. In my most immersed moments, I feel very natural and in flow with the breath and aware of all things - at once. Ohmm... It is an amazing feeling :)

Until next time,

Vy


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Vyoleta T.
bottom of page